Announcing the Elephant x Griffin Art Prize Longlist

We are proud to announce the twenty longlisted artists for the first Elephant x Griffin Art Prize. Click through the picture gallery below—and make a date to visit the prize show at our new project space, Elephant West, later this year!

Anna Liber Lewis, Head, 2017
Anna Liber Lewis, Head, 2017. Winner of the Griffin Art Prize 2017

Thank you to the hundreds of artists who submitted entries. The standard of work was incredibly high and presented the judges—Shezad Dawood, Jenny Lindén Urnes, Becca Pelly-Fry and Robert Shore—with a difficult challenge in reducing them to just twenty.

Without further ado here are the rising art stars who make up the longlist for the first Elephant x Griffin Art Prize:

Thomas Adam, Naomi Avsec, Fergus Cooper, Eloise Dethier-Eaton, Gabriela Giroletti, Ana Clara Goncalves Dias, Felicity Hammond, Realf Heygate, Gabriella Hirst, Catherine Howell, Seeun Kim, Arthur Laidlaw, Gareth Proskourine-Barnett, Kyung Hwa Shon, Gwenllian Spink, Louisa Stylianidi, Mircea Teleaga, Marianne Thoermer, Marcela (Mále) Uribe Forés and Ramona Zoladek.

Congratulations to them. A shortlist of ten artists will now be selected by the judges and announced at the beginning of October. The finalists will then be invited to take part in the Elephant x Griffin Art Prize exhibition at our pioneering new art project space, Elephant West. The winner will be revealed on 28 November.